Information Technology Reference
In-Depth Information
3. IEEE 1451
The IEEE 1451 family of standard protocols is aimed to give a standard set of commands
and data structures to facilitate the management of sensor networks and transducers
themselves. It gives to the application layer not only a transparent interface to handle sensors
and actuators but also a communication interface that is independent to the communication
protocol that is used in the physical layer.
The standard defines two main entities, the Network Capable Application Processor
(NCAP called device) and the Smart Transducer Interface Module (STIM called device).
In order to achieve this, the standard family is divided into different subfamilies: IEEE
1451.0, IEEE 1451.1, IEEE 1451.2, IEEE 1451.3, IEEE 1451.4, IEEE 1451.5, IEEE 1451.6
and IEEE 1451.7.
In the following figure a diagram of the entire family is shown.
Figure 1. IEEE 1451 family of protocols.
One key feature of the IEEE 1451 is the Transducer Electronic Data Sheet, TEDS. This
kind of file is used to help to implement plug and play features for the management of the
transducers and the transducer network itself.
In this project the 1451.0 and 1451.5 subfamilies have been used. The first one defines all
the data structures, commands, TEDS and communication, transducer services and HTTP
access APIs and the second one defines the interface for IEEE 1451 wireless communications
(802.11.x, 802.15.1, 802.15.4).
Search WWH ::

Custom Search