Tony Award Winners, 2008 The American Theatre Wing (ATW), established in 1939, created the Tony Awards in 1947 to recognize distinguished achievement in the theater arts as presented on Broadway. The award is named for Antoinette Perry, a former ATW director; since 1967 it has been presented in conjunction with the League of American Theatres […]