There’s nothing like a list to stimulate a strong discussion, so in the hopes of striking a few sparks among movie lovers, TIME asked its longtime film critics Richard Corliss and Richard Schickel to compile a list of the 100 greatest films ever made. Of course, the discussions that followed between the two critics were […]

TIME’s Person of the Year, 1927–2007 (Awards)

Every year since 1927, TIME has named a Person of the Year, identifying the individual who has done the most to affect the news in the past twelve months. The designation is often mistaken for an honor, but the magazine has always pointed out that inclusion on the list is not a recognition of good […]

Nobel Prizes (Awards)

The Alfred B. Nobel Prizes are widely regarded as the world’s most prestigious awards given for intellectual achievement. They are awarded annually from a fund bequeathed for that purpose by the Swedish inventor and industrialist Alfred Bernhard Nobel and administered by the Nobel Foundation. Nobel’s 1895 will established five of the six prizes: those for […]

Special Achievement Awards

Templeton Prize Formerly the Templeton Prize for Progress in Religion, the Templeton Prize for Progress Toward Research or Discoveries About Spiritual Realities was established in 1972 by American-born British businessman and philanthropist Sir John Tem-pleton. It recognizes the diversity of and rewards advancement in the ideas and perceptions of divinity. Each year an international interfaith […]

Science Honors (Awards)

Fields Medal The Fields Medal, officially known as the International ematicians for outstanding or groundbreaking re-Medal for Outstanding Discoveries in Mathematics, is search. It is traditionally given to mathematicians under granted every four years to between two and four math- the age of 40. Prize: Can$15,000 (about US$15,000). YEAR NAME BIRTHPLACE PRIMARY RESEARCH 1936 Lars […]

Arts and Letters Awards

Pulitzer Prizes Journalism, 2008 category and description winner publication subject Public Service: awarded to a staff Washington Post investigation into the mistreat newspaper for notable     ment of wounded US soldiers public service     at Walter Reed Hospital Breaking News Reporting: staff Washington Post coverage of the Virginia Tech awarded for local reporting […]

Architecture Awards

Pritzker Architecture Prize The Pritzker Prize, awarded by the Hyatt Foundation since 1979, is given to an outstanding living architect for built work. Prize: US$100,000 and a bronze medallion. year name country year name country 1979 Philip Johnson United States 1994 Christian de Portzamparc France 1980 Luis Barragan Mexico 1995 Tadao Ando Japan 1981 James […]