TIME’s Person of the Year, 1927–2007 (Awards)

Every year since 1927, TIME has named a Person of the Year, identifying the individual who has done the most to affect the news in the past twelve months. The designation is often mistaken for an honor, but the magazine has always pointed out that inclusion on the list is not a recognition of good works (like the Nobel Peace prize, for example), but rather a reflection of the sheer power of one’s actions, whether for good or for ill. Hence, both Adolf Hitler and Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini were chosen Person of the Year at the time when their actions commanded the attention of the world. Below, the complete list of Persons of the Year.

1927 Charles Lindbergh

1928 Walter Chrysler

1929 Owen Young

1930 Mahatma Gandhi

1931 Pierre Laval

1932 Franklin Delano Roosevelt

1933 Hugh Johnson

1934 Franklin Delano Roosevelt

1935 Haile Selassie

1936 Wallis Simpson

1937 Chiang Kai-Shek and Soong Mei-ling

1938 Adolf Hitler

1939 Joseph Stalin

1940 Winston Churchill

1941 Franklin Delano Roosevelt

1942 Joseph Stalin

1943 George Marshall

1944 Dwight Eisenhower

1945 Harry Truman

1946 James F. Byrnes

1947 George Marshall

1948 Harry Truman

1949 Winston Churchill

(“Man of the Half-Century”)

1950 The American Fighting-Man (representing US troops fighting in the Korean War; first abstract chosen)

1951 Mohammed Mossadegh

1952 Queen Elizabeth II

1953 Konrad Adenauer

1954 John Foster Dulles

1955 Harlow Curtice

1956 Hungarian Freedom Fighter (representing the citizens’ uprising against Soviet domination)

1957 Nikita Khrushchev

1958 Charles De Gaulle

1959 Dwight Eisenhower

1960 US Scientists

(represented by Linus Pauling, Isidor Rabi, Edward Teller, Joshua Lederberg, Donald A. Glaser, Willard Libby, Robert Woodward, Charles Draper, William Shockley, Emilio Segre, John Enders, Charles Townes, George Beadle, James Van Allen, and Edward Purcell)

1961 John F. Kennedy

1962 Pope John XXIII

1963 Martin Luther King, Jr.

1964 Lyndon Johnson

1965 William Westmoreland

1966 The Generation Twenty-Five and Under (representing American youth)

1967 Lyndon Johnson

1968 Apollo 8 astronauts Frank Borman, Jim Lovell, and William Anders

1969 The Middle Americans (representing the American electorate’s turn to the right)

1970 Willy Brandt

1971 Richard Nixon

1972 Richard Nixon and Henry Kissinger

1973 John Sirica

1974 King Faisal

1975 American Women

(represented by Betty Ford, Carla Hills, Ella Grasso, Barbara Jordan, Susie Sharp, Jill Conway, Billie Jean King, Susan Brown-miller, Addie Wyatt, Kathleen Byerly, Carol Sutton, and Alison Cheek)

1976 Jimmy Carter

1977 Anwar el-Sadat

1978 Deng Xiaoping

1979 Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini

1980 Ronald Reagan

1981 Lech Walensa

1982 The Computer

(first non-human abstract chosen; termed “Machine of the Year”)

1983 Ronald Reagan and Yuri Andropov

1984 Peter Ueberroth

1985 Deng Xiaoping

1986 Corazon Aquino

1987 Mikhail Gorbachev

1988 Endangered Earth (“Planet of the Year”)

1989 Mikhail Gorbachev (“Man of the Decade”)

1990 George H.W. Bush (termed “The Two George Bushes”; commended for his role in international affairs and criticized for his management of domestic affairs)

1991 Ted Turner

1992 Bill Clinton

1993 The Peacemakers

(represented by Nelson Mandela and F.W. de Klerk of South Africa and Yasir Arafat and Yitzhak Rabin of the Middle East)

1994 Pope John Paul II

1995 Newt Gingrich

1996 David Ho

1997 Andy Grove

1998 Bill Clinton and Kenneth Starr

1999 Jeffrey P. Bezos

2000 George W. Bush

2001 Rudolph Giuliani

2002 The Whistleblowers (represented by Cynthia Cooper of Worldcom, Sherron Watkins of Enron, and Coleen Rowley of the FBI)

2003 The American Soldier (representing US troops fighting in Iraq and Afghanistan)

2004 George W. Bush

2005 The Good Samaritans (represented by Bono [Paul Hewson], Bill Gates, and Melinda Gates)

2006 You

(representing the new age of user-generated Internet content)

2007 Vladimir Putin

Next post:

Previous post: