HTML and CSS Reference
In-Depth Information
4.5. Physical Style Tags
The current HTML and XHTML standards currently provide nine physical
styles: bold, italic, monospaced, underlined, strikethrough, larger, smal-
ler, superscripted, and subscripted text. Much to our relief, Internet Ex-
plorer has stopped supporting a tenth physical style, "blinking" text. We
wish the others would "get it." All physical style tags require ending tags.
As we discuss physical tags in detail, keep in mind that they convey
an acute styling for the immediate text. For more comprehensive,
document-wide control of text display, use stylesheets (see Chapter 8 ) .
Search WWH ::

Custom Search