HTML and CSS Reference
In-Depth Information
Appendix E. The XHTML 1.0 DTD
The XHTML 1.0 standard is formally defined as three Extensible Markup
Language (XML) Document Type Definitions (DTDs): the Strict DTD, the
Transitional DTD, and the Frameset DTD. These DTDs correspond to
the respective HTML 4.01 DTDs, defining the same elements and attrib-
utes using XML rather than the Standard Generalized Markup Language
(SGML) as the DTD authoring language.
The Strict DTD defines only those elements that are not deprecated in
the HTML 4.01 standard. Ideally, everyone would create XHTML docu-
ments that conform to the Strict DTD. The Transitional DTD includes all
those deprecated elements and more accurately reflects the HTML in use
today, with many older elements still in common use. The Frameset DTD
is identical to the Transitional DTD, with the exception that the document
<body> is replaced by the <frameset> element.
Since the HTML Transitional DTD is the one upon which this topic is
based, it is only appropriate that we include the corresponding XHTML
DTD. Note that we have reprinted this DTD verbatim and have not at-
tempted to add extensions to it. Where our description and the DTD de-
viate, assume the DTD is correct:
Extensible HTML version 1.0 Transitional DTD
This is the same as HTML 4.0 Transitional except for
changes due to the differences between XML and SGML.
Namespace =
For further information, see:
Copyright (c) 1998-2000 W3C (MIT, INRIA, Keio),
All Rights Reserved.
This DTD module is identified by the PUBLIC and SYSTEM identifiers:
PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
$Revision: 1.2 $
$Date: 2006/10/25 17:08:45 $
<!--================ Character mnemonic entities =========================-->
Search WWH ::

Custom Search