Gandzasar Monastery is situated in Martakert region. The first information about
Gandzasar was given by Catholicos Anania Mokatsi (Xc.).
According to Mkhitar Gosh Gandzasar was the tomb of the Khachen princes. The mon-
astery had a rich book depository and once served as a school.
Gandzasar Monastery mainly consists of the church and the porch. Outwardly St.
Hovhannes Mkrtich church is a triangular composition with a dome. Thanks to the rich
exterior and interior decoration the monastery is one of the finest specimens of Armenian
Beyond the stone walls of Gandzasar, in the northern part of the church there are 8 small
and 2 large rooms. In the eastern part of the church there is another two-stoned construction
which served as a school in the past. On the walls of Gandzasar Monastery there are over
Dadivank is situated on the hillock at the junction of Karabakh and Mrav mountain
The monastic complex is almost divided into two parts. The ancient church or the one-
nave basilica is located in the northern part of the complex on the hillside. The northern
wall entirely and the eastern wall partly are buried in the ground. The doors, especially the
eastern one, outwardly are ornamented with bas-reliefs which still more emphasizes the re-
strained decoration of the basilica.
The second church adjoins the first from the south. This church is comparatively nar-
rower and shorter, the two-rowed pilaster (3 pilasters in each row) adjoining the walls is
repeated as in the first one. The church underwent restoration.
The porch-chapel is a unique construction. In its essence it is a semi-secular, semi-reli-
gious construction, while by its architectural conception and structural principles it is con-
formable with national Armenian houses. The exterior modest and restrained decoration
contradicts the interior luxury. The porch was built in 1224 by bishop Grigor. The interior
walls of the porch are decorated with numerous set-in khachkars.
Katoghike church of Arzu-Khatun stands out from Davidavank complex. It is a magni-
ficent monument situated in the eastern part of the monastery. The temple was founded in
1224 by the efforts of Arzu-Khatun- the wife of the great prince Vakhtang of Haterk. The
church is much more interesting and remarkable from outside. Thanks to the masonry of
multi-colored and valuable stones, their maximally smooth processing, reasonable and wise
solution of architectural forms, building technique and decorative bas-reliefs Katoghike is
the gem of the complex.